FORT MYERS, Fla-- No more warnings! Starting Jan. 1, Florida Highway Patrol troopers will officially start issuing tickets if you're caught texting while driving.
That means putting the phone down while on the road is not only something that should be part of your New Year's resolution, it's now the law.
For the past six months drivers, have had some time to learn about the new law. Texting while driving is now a primary offense that you can be pulled over for and starting Wednesday, tickets will officially be issued for it.
It's also illegal to talk on your phone in school and work zones unless you use a hands-free device.
"I'm sure they'll be ready when they see those blue lights behind them. They'll get the message as soon as the trooper walks up to them texting and driving is very dangerous,” said Lt. Derrick Rahming with Florida Highway Patrol.
If you break the new law, you'll face a $30 fine plus court costs the first time. That jumps to $60 plus court costs for a second violation within five years.