NewsLocal News


Preparations across the state as Hurricane Nicole approaches

Storm surge breached parts of MacArthur Blvd on Hutchinson Island
Posted at 11:21 AM, Nov 09, 2022
and last updated 2022-11-09 19:00:38-05

Hurricane Nicole has maximum sustained winds of 70 miles per hour and is moving west at 12 miles per hour as it approaches Florida.

WATCH NOW| Governor Ron DeSantis

Governor Ron DeSantis gives update on Tropical Storm Nicole

Governor Ron DeSantis issued Executive Order 22-255 (Amending Executive Order 22-253, Emergency Management – Tropical Storm Nicole) on Monday, and expanded the state of emergency to 11 additional counties on Wednesday including Alachua, Bradford, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hernando, Jefferson, Levy, Marion, Pinellas, Taylor, and Wakulla.

There are currently 16,000 linemen staged to respond to power outages following the storm in addition to 600 guardsmen that have been activated, and 7 Urban Search and Rescue teams on standby to deploy following the storm.

Florida Power and Light is urging people to prepare as the storm makes its way toward the state.

WATCH NOW | Florida Power and Light

FPL’s emergency response plan is underway and its workforce and supplies are positioned to be able to respond safely and as quickly as possible, with approximately 13,000 men and women supporting the restoration.

Here is the latest on the power preparations in Southwest Florida.

The following Watches and Warnings are in effect:

  • Hurricane Warning: Brevard, Indian River, Martin, coastal Palm Beach, St. Lucie and coastal Volusia counties.
  • Hurricane Watch: Broward and inland Palm Beach
  • Tropical Storm Warning:  Alachua, Bradford, Broward, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, DeSoto, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Glades, Hardee, Hernando, Hendry, Highlands, Hillsborough, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Lee, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Manatee, Marion, Nassau, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, Seminole, St. Johns, Sumter, Taylor, Volusia and Wakulla counties.
  • Tropical Storm Watch: Baker, Columbia, Hamilton, Suwanee and Union counties.
  • Storm Surge Warning: Brevard, Citrus, Clay, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Hernando, Indian River, Jefferson, Levy, Martin, Nassau, Palm Beach, Pasco, Putnam, St. Johns, St. Lucie, Taylor, Volusia and Wakulla counties.
  • Storm Surge Watch: Broward and Franklin counties.
  • Flood Watch: Brevard, Broward, Clay, DeSoto, Duval, Flagler, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Indian River, Lake, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Nassau, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Polk, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns, St. Lucie, Sumter and Volusia counties.