NewsLocal News


New arena football team to be announced in Southwest Florida

Posted at 10:02 AM, Sep 24, 2018
and last updated 2018-09-24 10:02:48-04

LEE COUNTY, Fla. -- We'll get our first look at a new arena football team on Monday that will be playing at the Hertz Arena in 2019.

The A-League, a new arena football league based in Florida, says the Southwest Florida team will be one of four to play in the inaugural season.

It'll be the first arena team in Fort Myers since the Florida Tarpons moved from Estero to Lakeland in 2017.

The Tarpons owners are forming their own league, with all the teams being owned by the league.

The league will reveal more details at a press conference Monday afternoon at Hertz Arena, formerly the Germain Arena.

Arena games are 8-on-8, on fields half the size of an NFL field.  There also is no punting allowed.

The new Southwest Florida team will join the Lakeland Tarpons, the Ocala Panthers, and another unannounced team.  Two more teams are expected to start playing in 2020.