NewsLocal NewsLee County


Lee schools remain closed after Hurricane Ian

District hopes to return by Monday, October 17, 2022
Lee County Schools
Posted at 2:28 PM, Oct 07, 2022
and last updated 2022-10-07 21:26:41-04

LEE COUNTY, Fla. — The Superintendent of Schools of the School District of Lee County says schools will remain closed next week.

Dr. Christopher Bernier says they are closed because several schools are being used as shelters or suffered major damage because of Hurricane Ian.

He says a majority of schools are low needs, meaning they are almost ready to reopen. There are others in the high need category, meaning significant damage or will need to be rebuilt.

Dr. Bernier says most schools do not have suitable drinking water and remain under a boil water notice.

The goal is to return to school on Monday, October 17, 2022.

He says Wednesday, October 12th, the board will meet to discuss getting back into the classroom for all students and staff.

The following schools are not ready to open as of October 7:

  • Fort Myers Beach Elementary
  • Hector Cafferata Elementary
  • Heights Elementary
  • Pine Island Elementary
  • Skyline Elementary
  • Caloosa Middle
  • Cypress Lake Middle
  • Diplomat Middle
  • Gulf Middle
  • Lexington Middle
  • Mariner Middle
  • Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle
  • Trafalgar Middle
  • The Sanibel School
  • North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts
  • North Fort Myers High
  • Fort Myers Tech
  • Success Academy

The following schools could be ready to open as of October 7:

  • Allen Park Elementary
  • Bayshore Elementary
  • Bonita Springs Elementary
  • Cape Elementary
  • Colonial Elementary
  • Caloosa Elementary
  • Carrie D. Robinson Littleton Elementary
  • Diplomat Elementary
  • Edgewood Elementary
  • Edison Park Elementary
  • Franklin Park Elementary
  • G. Weaver Hipps Elementary
  • Gateway Elementary
  • Gulf Elementary
  • Hancock Creek Elementary
  • Harns Marsh Elementary
  • J. Colin English Elementary
  • James Stephens Elementary
  • Lehigh Elementary
  • Manatee Elementary
  • Mirror Lakes Elementary
  • Orange River Elementary
  • Orangewood Elementary
  • Patriot Elementary
  • Pelican Elementary
  • Pinewoods Elementary
  • Ray V. Pottorf Elementary
  • Rayma C. Page Elementary
  • River Hall Elementary
  • San Carlos Park Elementary
  • Spring Creek Elementary
  • Sunshine Elementary
  • Tanglewood Elementary
  • Three Oak Elementary
  • Tice Elementary
  • Tortuga Preserve Elementary
  • Trafalgar Elementary
  • Treeline Elementary
  • Tropic Isles Elementary
  • Villas Elementary
  • The Alva School
  • Veterans Park
  • Bonita Springs Middle
  • Challenger Middle
  • Fort Myers Middle
  • Harns Marsh Middle
  • Lehigh Acres Middle
  • Mariner Middle
  • Oak Hammock Middle
  • Three Oaks Middle
  • Varsity Lakes Middle
  • Bonita Springs High
  • Cape Coral High
  • Cypress Lake High
  • Dunbar High
  • East High
  • Estero High
  • Fort Myers High
  • Gateway High
  • Ida Baker High
  • Island Coast High
  • Lehigh Senior High
  • Mariner High
  • Riverdale High
  • South Fort Myers High
  • Buckingham
  • Cape Coral Tech
  • Dunbar Community
  • Royal Palm