NewsLocal NewsLee County


Leadership changes made at Fort Myers Beach town council meeting

Posted at 11:13 AM, Nov 14, 2022
and last updated 2022-11-14 15:37:41-05

FORT MYERS BEACH, Fla. — The town of Fort Myers Beach will continue on the path toward recovery with new leadership at the top.

On Monday, the Town Council swore in a new Mayor and Vice Mayor and accepted the resignation of the Town Manager.

The town government operates under a so-called weak-mayor system where the mayor has no formal authority outside of the council.

Council members choose a member of their own ranks to serve as mayor and vice mayor.

Mayor Ray Murphy narrowly lost his re-election bid by 51 votes to new councilmember John King.

Councilmembers chose Dan Allers as the new mayor of Fort Myers Beach.

Vice Mayor Rexann Hosafros, who chose not to seek re-election, was replaced by Jim Atterholt.

Swearing-in was also held for two new council members, Karen Woodson and John King.

The changing of the guard comes nearly two months following Hurricane Ian's devastating impact on the town.

The Fort Myers Beach Council voted to accept the resignation of Town Manager Roger Hernstadt and then voted 3-2 to suspend Hernstadt with pay pending a separation agreement. Voting in favor were new Mayor Dan Allers, Vice Mayor Jim Atterholt, and new councilmember Karen Woodson.

“I certainly have had my disagreements with the town manager, that’s well known. But, as I’ve said before, I think he’s been very strong in what he’s been brought here to do,” Mayor Allers said.

Hernstadt turned in his resignation to the council Sunday evening.