NewsLocal NewsLee County


Governor DeSantis: All school districts in the state to reopen next week

Posted at 1:01 PM, Oct 13, 2022
and last updated 2022-10-15 08:31:55-04

CAPE CORAL, Fla. — Governor Ron DeSantis announced all school districts to reopen in the state by Tuesday, Oct. 18.

He says The School District of Lee County was really hit hard, but they feel everything will be ready by next week.

The state has worked to get power restored to the schools, obtained portable classrooms, and checked transportation routes before returning to the classroom.

Facility crews from as far as Miami Dade worked within the district to get the schools ready for students, faculty, and workers in the county.

Dr. Christopher Bernier said just last week to give them some time and patience.

He said it was in need of infrastructure and the biggest thing they are waiting on is air quality tests to allow the schools to reopen.

WATCH NOW: Lee Schools

In order for students to return to school, the location must meet nine safety criteria and the following schools will be open to students on Monday, October 17, 2022:

  • Bonita Springs Elementary
  • Bonita Springs Middle
  • Colonial Elementary
  • Diplomat Elementary
  • Franklin Park Elementary
  • Gulf Elementary
  • Fort Myers Middle
  • Orange River Elementary
  • Orangewood Elementary
  • Three Oaks Elementary
  • Tice Elementary
  • Trafalgar Elementary School
  • Tropic Isles Elementary

The following schools will be open to students on Tuesday, October 18, 2022:

  • Allen Park Elementary
  • Buckingham Exceptional Center
  • Cypress Lake High
  • Edison Park Elementary
  • Hancock Creek Elementary
  • Ida S. Baker High
  • J. Colin English Elementary
  • James Stephens Elementary
  • Littleton Elementary
  • Manatee Elementary
  • Pinewoods Elementary
  • Royal Palm Exceptional Center
  • Tanglewood Elementary
  • Three Oaks Middle
  • Villas Elementary

The following schools will be open to students on Wednesday, October 19, 2022:

  • The Alva School
  • Bayshore Elementary
  • Bonita Springs High School
  • Cape Elementary
  • Cape Coral High
  • Cape Coral Technical College
  • Challenger Middle
  • Dunbar High
  • East Lee County High
  • Edgewood Elementary
  • Estero High School
  • Fort Myers Beach Elementary***
    (Note: Fort Myers Beach Elementary students will start at San Carlos Park Elementary on Thursday, October 20, 2022)
  • G. Weaver Hipps Elementary
  • Gateway Elementary
  • Gateway High School
  • Harns Marsh Elementary
  • Harns Marsh Middle
  • Island Coast High
  • Lehigh Acres Middle
  • Lehigh Elementary
  • Lehigh Senior High
  • Mariner High
  • Mariner Middle
  • Mirror Lakes Elementary
  • Oak Hammock Middle
  • Patriot Elementary
  • Pelican Elementary
  • Ray V. Pottorf Elementary
  • Rayma Page Elementary
  • River Hall Elementary
  • Riverdale High
  • San Carlos Park Elementary
  • South Fort Myers High
  • Spring Creek Elementary
  • Sunshine Elementary
  • Tortuga Preserve Elementary
  • Treeline Elementary
  • The Sanibel School***
    (Note: The Sanibel School students will start at San Carlos Park Elementary on Thursday, October 20, 2022)
  • Varsity Lakes Middle
  • Veterans Park Academy for the Arts 

The District will give daily updates with the start date of schoolsas they meet the nine safety criteria.