NewsLocal News


New Teacher of the Year announced for Lee County Schools

Posted at 5:36 PM, May 06, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-07 07:09:13-04

FORT MYERS, FLa. — One Lee County teacher got quite the surprise Monday. The Lee County School Board announced Daniel Deshazo as the 2019 New Teacher of the Year.

Deshazo is the junior leadership program teacher at Caloosa Middle School.

This is a JROTC style cadet program teaching leadership, discipline, and character.

“Mr. DeShazo has taken this opportunity and embraced it with open arms,” says Caloosa Middle School Assistant Principal Melissa Booth. “He quickly demonstrated a natural ability to build and foster relationships with students while embodying our school’s vision of inspiring a passion for learning and leadership.”

“I am very honored,” DeShazo said in reaction to be chosen. “I am amazed the District would take the time to honor a first-year teacher like me. It’s very rewarding.”

The New Teacher of the Year is a new award for the District. First year teachers were nominated by their administrators, a selection committee picked five finalists, and then interviewed them to choose the inaugural award winner.

Deshazo spent five years in the Marines before making the switch to education.