NewsLocal News


Finalists announced for Lee County Gold Apple Recognition Program

Golden Apple finalist.jpg
Posted at 3:28 PM, Jan 23, 2021
and last updated 2021-01-23 15:37:22-05

LEE COUNTY, Fla. — Thirty Lee County Public Schools teachers have been chosen as finalists for the 34th Annual Golden Apple Recognition Program.

The finalists will be personally interviewed and observed in their classrooms by the Golden Apple Selection Committee. Six will then be chosen as Golden Apple Award Recipients.

“During this very trying time in our community and throughout the world, there has been an eye-opening recognition of the importance of the teaching profession”, stated Marshall T. Bower Esq., President & CEO of The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools. “Teachers have gone above and beyond to make sure they are meeting the needs of our community’s most valuable asset, our students. These 30 Golden Apple Finalists are outstanding representatives of all our great teachers."

The finalists are:

Taylor Ashby – North Fort Myers High

Jamie Ayres - Cape Coral High

Yanet Barrero – North Fort Myers High

Alisa Brown – Hancock Creek Elementary

Dr. Nathan Buehler – Mirror Lakes Elementary

Joseph Camputaro – The Sanibel School

Christy Falk – Allen Park Elementary

Annette Gallipo – Bonita Springs High

Brittany Gonzalez – Tortuga Preserve Elementary

Colt Hartstein – Mariner High

Shelly Hassett – Dr. Carrie D Robinson Elementary

Anne Hester – East Lee County High

Melissa Holland – Tanglewood Elementary

Sarah Jones – Ida S Baker High

Sara Kizzire – Lehigh Senior High

Ashley Koehler – Cape Coral High

Louis Lillard – East Lee County High

Kaisha Louis – Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle

Shelby Massaro – Cypress Lake Middle

Heather Morse – Gulf Middle

Joni Pelletier – Treeline Elementary

Marylin Prysi – Villas Elementary

Jennie Rimes – Fort Myers Middle Academy

Krista Rivera – Gulf Middle

Kristen Santiago – Diplomat Middle

Barbara Scarnato – The Sanibel School

Lori Shaw – Cape Coral High

Trevor Tran – Fort Myers High

Bryan Williams – Mariner High

Dana Windey – Riverdale High